Hotline: +49 4351 469995-0
  • Cart
  • 0 Items
  • €0.00
 

The Electronic Chart

SKU: 31386

€75.21
Incl. 5% Tax

 
Rating summary
not yet rated

Add to Compare Add to Wishlist

Send to a friend Review product

Quick Overview

The Electronic Chart is a detailed technical book about basics, functions, data structure and systematics of electronic navigation systems on commercial vessels. All aspects of use and training are covered in detail with great depth. 484 pages with numerous colour illustrations, graphics and screenshots in softcover. Text in English language. Fourth edition, 2017.

The Electronic Chart

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Details

A reference book about Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS)

Summary

The Electronic Chart is a detailed technical book about basics, functions, data structure and systematics of electronic navigation systems on commercial vessels. All aspects of use and training are covered in detail with great depth. 484 pages with numerous colour illustrations, graphics and screenshots in softcover. Text in English language. Fourth edition, 2017.

Content

The book is divided into five sections

  1. Part A: Fundamentals
  2. Part B: ECDIS-related Functions
  3. Part C: Data Services and updates
  4. Part D: ECDIS Training
  5. Part E: Other Essentials ECDIS Aspects

Description of the book

The Electronic Chart is a reference book for nautical officers, pilots, maritime technicians, professional navigators and students of seafaring.
Section A contains the basic functions of electronic navigation with ECDIS. Backgrounds, components, data and software are explained and compared with traditional navigation. The data structure, data standards, data management and hydrographic aspects are described in detail. Finally, the ENC visualisation of how the data is prepared and presented for the bridge crew is highlighted.

Section B explains the ECDIS functions in more detail and is therefore also a practical reference book for:

  • ENC Management
  • Presentation settings of the chart image
  • Route functions
  • Information overlay of chart, radar, AIS and other data
  • raster charts

Section C deals with the data, the electronic navigational charts (ENC). Different sources, publishers and formats are presented and the update possibilities are discussed.

Section D covers all aspects of ECDIS training and why it is not only mandatory but also helpful and necessary. An ECDIS training software (with free unlock code) is presented.

In section E, special questions and special cases are dealt with, which should nevertheless be known to navigators. Starting with the back-up for an ECDIS to safety aspects, rules and regulations regarding electronic charts. In addition, additional benefits for individual user groups and special charts are presented. The chapter concludes with an outlook on the further development of electronic nautical charts.

The book is accompanied by an activation code for the free download of an ECDIS software for demonstration purposes.

More reference books about professional navigation can be found here!

About the authors

Four experts with extensive knowledge and experience have written a reference textbook together, which is now published in the fourth edition!

Horst Hecht is former Vice President of the Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (BSH) and former Director of the Hydrographic Department of the BSH. For many years he was involved in ECDIS standardization in numerous committees of IHO and IMO. Today he works as a hydrographic freelancer and Senior Scientific Advisor on GIS issues for a large geospatial software company.

Dr. Bernhard Berking is a lecturer in ECDIS application training for bridge officers and pilots. He was a visiting professor of electronic navigation systems at the World Maritime University in Malmö.

Dr. Mathias Jonas is the national hydrographer of Germany. As Chairman of the IHO Committee on Hydrographic Standards and Services, he oversees the work of a total of nine technical standardization working groups, including those responsible for maintaining the ECDIS standards.

Marcus Wöster is a lecturer at the Flensburg University of Applied Sciences. He develops and gives lectures and trainings in technical navigation and ECDIS for students, nautical officers and pilots. Before that he gained practical experience as a watch officer at sea.

Additional Information

Author No
Language English
Edition 2017
Editiondate 01.03.2017
Brand HanseNautic

Hotline: +49 4351 469995-0
 

The Electronic Chart

Artikelnummer: 31386

75,21 €
Inkl. 7% MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

 
Gesamtbewertung
Noch nicht Bewertet

Auf den Merkzettel Auf den Wunschzettel

Produkt weiterempfehlen Produkt bewerten

Kurzübersicht

The Electronic Chart ist ein detailliertes Fachbuch über Grundlagen, Funktionen, Datenstruktur und Systematik von Elektronischen Navigationsanlagen auf Handelsschiffen. Alle Aspekte zur Nutzung und zum Training werden ausführlich mit großer Detailtiefe abgedeckt. 484 Seiten mit zahlreichen durchgehend farbigen Abbildungen, Grafiken und Bildschirmdarstellungen im Softcover. Text in englischer Sprache. Vierte Auflage, 2017.

The Electronic Chart

Klicken Sie doppelt auf das obere Bild, um es in voller Größe zu sehen

Verkleinern
Vergrößern

Mehr Ansichten

Details

Ein Fachbuch über Electronic Chart Display and Information System (ECDIS)

Kurzfassung

The Electronic Chart ist ein detailliertes Fachbuch über Grundlagen, Funktionen, Datenstruktur und Systematik von Elektronischen Navigationsanlagen auf Handelsschiffen. Alle Aspekte zur Nutzung und zum Training werden ausführlich mit großer Detailtiefe abgedeckt. 484 Seiten mit zahlreichen durchgehend farbigen Abbildungen, Grafiken und Bildschirmdarstellungen im Softcover. Text in englischer Sprache. Vierte Auflage, 2017.

Inhalt

Das Buch gleidert sich in fünf Abschnitte

  1. Teil A: Fundamentals
  2. Teil B: ECDIS-related Functions
  3. Teil C: Data Services and updates
  4. Teil D: ECDIS Training
  5. Teil E: Other Essentials ECDIS Aspects

Beschreibung

Das Fachbuch The Electronic Chart richtet sich an nautische Offiziere, Lotsen, maritime Techniker, professionelle Navigatoren und Studenten der Seefahrt.

Abschnitt A beinhalten die grundlegenden Funktionen der elektronischen Navigation mit ECDIS. Es werden Hintergründe, Komponenten, Daten und Software erklärt und mit traditioneller Navigation gegenübergestellt. Im Detail wird auf die Datenstruktur, -standards, -management sowie die hydrographischen Aspekte eingegangen. Abschließend wird die ENC Visualisierung beleuchtet, auf welche Weise die Daten für die Brückenbesatzung aufbereitet und präsentiert werden.

Abschnitt B erklärt die ECDIS Funktionen noch detaillierter und ist damit auch ein praktisches Nachschlagewerk für

  • ENC Management
  • Präsentationseinstellungen des Kartenbild
  • Routenfunktionen
  • Information Overlay von Karte, Radar, AIS und anderen Daten
  • Rasterkarten

Abschnitt C geht auf die Daten, die electronic navigational charts (ENC), ein. Unterschiedliche Quellen, Herausgeber und Formate werden vorgestellt und die Aktualisierungmöglichkeiten besprochen.

Abschnitt D umfasst alle Aspekte des ECDIS Training und warum es nicht nur vorgeschrieben sondern auch hilfreich und notwendig ist. Eine ECDIS Trainigssoftware (mit kostenlosem Freischaltcode) wird vorgestellt.

Im Abschnitt E wird auf Spezialfragen und Sonderfälle eingegangen, über die Nautiker nichtsdestotrotz Kenntnis haben sollen. Angefangen vom Back-Up für ein ECDIS über Sicherheitsaspekte, Regularien und Vorschriften in Bezug auf Elektronische Seekarten. Zusätzlich werden Zusatznutzen für einzelne Nutzergruppen und Spezialkarten vorgestellt. Das Kapitel schließt mit einem Ausblick auf die weiteren Entwicklung für Elektronische Seekarten.

Dem Buch wird ein Freischaltcode beigefügt für den kostenfreien Download einer ECDIS Software zu Demonstrationszwecken.

Weiter Fachbücher über professionelle Navigation finden Sie hier!

Über die Autoren

Vier Experten mit umfangreichem Fachwissen und Erfahrung haben zusammen ein Referenzwerk geschrieben, es erscheint inzwischen in der vierten Ausgabe!

Horst Hecht ist Vizepräsident a. D. des Bundesamtes für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH) und ehemaliger Direktor der Hydrographischen Abteilung des BSH. Er war viele Jahre lang mit der ECDIS-Standardisierung in zahlreichen Gremien von IHO und IMO beschäftigt. Heute ist er als hydrographischer Freelancer und Senior Scientific Advisor in GIS-Fragen für ein großes Geospatial-Softwareunternehmen tätig.

Dr. Bernhard Berking ist Dozent für Schulungen im Bereich ECDIS-Anwendung für Brückenoffiziere und Lotsen. Er war Gastprofessor für elektronische Navigationssysteme an der World Maritime University in Malmö.

Dr. Mathias Jonas ist der nationale Hydrografiker Deutschlands. Als Vorsitzender des IHO-Ausschusses für Hydrographische Normen und Dienstleistungen überwacht er die Arbeit von insgesamt neun Arbeitsgruppen für technische Normung - darunter diejenigen, die für die Aufrechterhaltung der ECDIS-Standards verantwortlich sind.

Marcus Wöster ist Dozent an der Fachhochschule Flensburg. Er entwickelt und hält Vorträge und Schulungen in technischer Navigation und ECDIS für Studenten, nautische Offiziere und Lotsen. Zuvor sammelte er praktische Seefahrterfahrung als Wachoffizier auf See.

Zusatzinformation

Autor Nein
Sprache Englisch
Edition 2017
Editionsdatum 01.03.2017
Marke HanseNautic